PDA

View Full Version : Nelson, NV

Next Exit
05-08-2004, 03:10 PM
My wife and I are going to Nelson, NV in a 30' motorhome. Though we travel a lot, we are very new to ghosttowning. I was going to buy a metal detector for kicks until I read that it's a Federal crime.

Has anyone been to Nelson, NV?

Is there anything we should see or do to make the trip complete?

Is it a difficult road getting there? It looks to be about a mile of dirt road.

Rockcrusher
05-08-2004, 08:19 PM
Buying and using a metal detector is not a crime . . . Removing artifacts from federal property is.

Nelson is in the Lake Mead NRA so access is probably pretty easy. I don't know what, if anything is there.

Next Exit
05-09-2004, 11:02 AM
I'm going to go ahead then and buy a metal detector. But whatever I find I need to leave, is that correct? Not that I have any hopes of finding anything, it's mostly for #%!$ and grins. But where and how does someone learn the laws of ghosttowning?

I'm new to this but it's always been a childhood fantasy to go to ghosttowns and look around. Any and all information is greatly appreciated.

Bob
05-10-2004, 01:27 AM