PDA

View Full Version : Anyone help a British journalist to go ghosttowning?

kissingengland
09-25-2004, 10:22 AM
Hi

I am a novelist and journalist here in England. I have been checking out this excellent and fascinating site, and become hugely enthusiastic about the idea of ghosttowning. As a result I have approached my newspaper with the idea of ghosttowning - and I have been commissioned by The Times newspaper, here in London, to write a travel piece on this theme - visiting some ghost towns in the western USA.

I hope to travel in October/November. My idea is that, in terms of weather and richness of ghost towns, somewhere in Arizona might be the best place to visit. My editor thinks it would be good if, for the purposes of the piece, I take in one or two famous ghost towns - say Tombstone, or someting similar - and then go hunting for one of my own.

Do you guys think I am on the right track? Is Arizona a good bet? Also, does anyone know someone who might be willing to help The Times? What I am thinking is that maybe they might want to come along with me - and probably a photographer - for a day or two. Obviously I am a complete novice at ghosttowning, so it would be good to have an expert on board. I don't particularly want to fall down a copper mine! In return I will happily publicise any websites/tours in my piece, and anything else the expert would like to advertise.

Thanks very much - and congratulations again for one of the best websites I've seen in years...

My best

Sean Thomas

Ryan Hill
09-26-2004, 04:20 AM
Dear Sean,

I believe that Arizona is the best choice for a Ghost Town 'beginer' as yourself. I too am visiting AZ in October, and I am looking forward to it very much. In regards to finding a town for yourself, I would recomend buying a good GT related book for the AZ region.

Good luck and best wishes from a fellow Brit!!

;)

WorkinStiff
09-26-2004, 08:01 AM