PDA

View Full Version : antelope valley;mojave,rosemond and vicinties ghosttowns and abandoned homesteads

countdrakula661
11-16-2004, 01:19 AM
This is my first post.I live in the antelope valley i came from south central and love to spend my time exploring my areas. always studing herps and exploring the vast abandoned homesteads in the area many so close that they might as well be a ghost town. one for example is the town of hi vista ive been visiting the area for 13 years and have found so many views if you go visit remember their are alot of rattlesnakes. their iis a stone ranch and other scatered buildings their still are residents but equal emptys i have also came across a old classic cementery of cars a few 30's & 40's .some even complete! a couple of old shwinns. my coolest finds in the desert is a silver cross with emeralds and rubys (found it whie climbing a small crevise of rocks, i seen something dull and i reached and pulled it out),once while out hiking in the desert way outthere there is a shack about 4x8 built beetwen some joshuas and other shrubs on top of one of the beams inside i found a small sachet full of silver coins. another time my wife and i came across a old rock buillding i moved an old appliance and found a old 1940 six pack in exelent condition still with the box closed.i found a stack of newspapers from the 1940's. also in the little rock mountains my son and i while in the suzuki(best ride for desert roads they get narrow sometimes)found a old hotel like with diferent bungalos it was stshed pretty good the road has been covered by growth but if your standing at an angle you can tell it was a road.you could pass that road all yea and miss it i found it by accident the building is detiriorating fast but all naturally.the water tower collapsed and their are no bathrooms in the rooms theirr is an out house nothing in it i think their is also a loby office it still has the counters and the beams in the roof are beautiful i dont like to br