PDA

View Full Version : Boise Basin region

deshawn70
05-10-2005, 04:44 PM
Hello, I am a newbie that is fairly new in ghost town hunting. I live in southern Idaho and try to visit the Boise Basin area when I can. Actually, north of Boise Basin I am interested in a town called Roosevelt. It was dammed up back in the late 1800's (I think) and left the town under water. Apparantly you can still see the foundations of the town at the edge of the lake.
Also, Bonanza and Custer is fascinating to visit. I was not impressed so much with Silver City. I thought the buildings were interesting but you could not get close to a lot of them because they are summer houses now. I have still yet to reach Atlanta or Rocky Bar, ID but have heard they are interesting towns to visit.
I love talking about ghost towns and history and look forward to talking to everyone. I am with a volunteer group trying to preserve a stage station on the Oregon Trail and I have always loved history. OK, time to quit boring everyone :-) Have a pleasant evening.

oregon4wd
05-11-2005, 01:59 AM
Howdy, I think your in a great location to start alot of ghost town trips from. Silver City can be a little rough around the edges at times but there is a fair amount to explore in the vicinity. There are four cemeteries that I know of, Ruby City being one. Check out the trails up and around War Eagle Mountain. I picked up a good spiral bound guide of that area, "War Eagle Mountain Field Trip" by the "Stathams" at the shop across from the Hotel. Bonanza and Custer are interesting as well as Rocky Bar and Atlanta. I didn't get a good look at Atlanta when I passed through as it was twilight and there are folks living there. Rocky Bar is a ghost. Good luck with the stage station preservation!

ghost_town_huntress
05-11-2005, 09:06 AM