PDA

View Full Version : Moose City Idaho???

Teddy
09-16-2005, 09:44 PM
I'm a little new at this. Has anyone ever been to Moose City in Clearwater County Idaho? I have researched it, I know it started in 1869 and is shown on Idaho maps from then but vanishes between 1895 and 1905. It is a "city of importance" (according to the Idaho Historical Society) but is "unsurvayed" (what ever that means).I have a 4X4 map (2002) showing it to be on trail #255. It looks like it's not easy to get there. I live in Wallace ID and it does not seem far, just rough trails. Just wondering if there is anything left and if it's worth the trip? Any info is appriciated.

Johnnie
09-17-2005, 04:35 AM
I'm a little new at this. Has anyone ever been to Moose City in Clearwater County Idaho? I have researched it, I know it started in 1869 and is shown on Idaho maps from then but vanishes between 1895 and 1905. It is a "city of importance" (according to the Idaho Historical Society) but is "unsurvayed" (what ever that means).I have a 4X4 map (2002) showing it to be on trail #255. It looks like it's not easy to get there. I live in Wallace ID and it does not seem far, just rough trails. Just wondering if there is anything left and if it's worth the trip? Any info is appriciated.Teddy, John Amerson @ the Wallace Mining Museum, might be of some help or guide you in right direction, lots of luck.

Your Fellow Ghosttowners
Johnnie & Sheila

Teddy
09-21-2005, 07:23 PM