PDA

View Full Version : Attaching Photo Files on GT.com

Watt Noise
01-21-2006, 12:05 PM
I was asked in a PM about how to put photos in your posts on GT.com… Figured I'd pass on the info to everyone as well… Hope it's helpful… This was sent to the query in 2 parts because it can be a bit much to digest for someone that doesn't live on computers like I do… ;)

Part One

Sure - I'll give it a shot for you... My background is photography and computers, so if something I say goes "over your head", just tell me and I'll try to explain it another way... Might be helpful to know what photo editor you are using if the following doesn't explain it well enough for you...

One of the hardest things on this forum is the very limiting file size for uploading pictures, but it is understandable - bandwidth to allow larger files costs money... The file has to be 39.1 KB or less... This means that you need a photo editor that will not only reduce the physical size of the photo (what you see on the screen) but also will adjust the amount of space it occupies on the computer - the file size (compression)...

Most editors have a way of reducing the file size on an options or advanced button when you go to save the photo on your computer... VERY IMPORTANT: Don't re-save your original photo's name because it will reduce the original down to whatever setting you have and the original attributes will be LOST... Always save an edited photo as a different name when you are working with originals...