PDA

View Full Version : Geeking on disappeared towns

blue_nant
06-27-2006, 04:22 PM
I found this site through one of the two ghost town sites I run across when searching for used-to-be towns in my area. (I'm not an organized ghost town hunter, I just get an occasional zing of curiosity for something or some location.)

Today I was looking at old maps because of a project I'm doing on northeastern Nebraska, and I found a load of towns I had never heard of before, both in the county of concern and the surrounding counties, the county of my hometown and the counties of my forebears (... who were not bears, BTW.) ... Dang it's interesting!!! I had a very good day!

I used to be an obituary writer, too, and folks would cite being from, say, Monterey, or Swaburg, town which are no longer going concerns. One lady at one of the funeral homes graciously answered my questions and I learned a lot about local history during those years. She is a wonderful person. (Rock on, Elaine B.!)

A question I have is this: Do y'all consider a town a ghost town if there is commerce in it? The town I currently live in still has a post office, a bar, and ostensibly, a sign shop and a *cough*art gallery*cough* The last one Never has business and the previous one rarely.

Back in the 40s, however, there was a car dealership, two grocery stores, two restaurants, a bank, a school, and I can't even remember what-all.

What say ye?

Fun site!

LauraA
06-27-2006, 04:46 PM
Good question, looks like it's still open for discussion........

Define "Ghost" - Ghosttowns.com Forums (http://forums.ghosttowns.com/showthread.php?t=5207&highlight=definition+of+ghost+town)

bad bob
06-27-2006, 05:30 PM
The standard definition of a ghost town, which goes back as far as I can remember: