PDA

View Full Version : San Antonio area

whatimagination
12-18-2006, 09:37 AM
Hello all!

I'm heading down to San Antonio next week and am planning a photo day. I was hoping for some clues on the location of some Wilson county GT's I'd seen mentioned. Like - Verdi, Hackberry, Blackhill, Zunkerville...

Now, being new to this forum I've yet to get a feel for how it's members operate. ie - how open y'all are with information and directions. Some other forums I frequent are very suspicious of newbies and tend to keep most locations closely guarded secrets. So please bear with me until I get a bit more acclimated. :)

I'm a graphic designer with a great interest in history and the photographic preservation of the abandoned and forgotten parts of that history.

So if anyone can lend me some directions - in this thread or by PM - I'd greatly appreciate it.

thank you :)

old judge
12-18-2006, 12:31 PM
Hey What... We got a Verdi and Black Hill in Atascosa Co., a Hackberry in Lavaca Co., and a Zunkerville in Karnes Co., all close, but not Wilson County. If I'm on the right track, let me know and I'll help you out, even though you're from Texas. I assume you couldn't help it. If somebody else wants to jump in and save me from myself by giving this gent a hand, feel free. OJ..... By the way, really like your photo work....:cool:

old judge
12-18-2006, 12:40 PM
Ooooops........:D

whatimagination
12-18-2006, 12:57 PM
thank you.

Well that would explain why I couldn't find those towns in Wilson county. :rolleyes: I thought I had read in someone's post that that's where they were. My bad.

I had planned on going to Sutherland Springs to photograph these bank ruins - http://www.texasescapes.com/TOWNS/Texas_ghost_towns/SutherlandSpringsTexas/SutherlandSprings.htm

(Hopefully they're still there - those photos are from 2000) And was looking for some more locations in the area. Anyone know of some that would be worth the trip?