PDA

View Full Version : Ghost Towners Check List

Ghost Toon
07-15-2007, 10:12 PM
I am new to Ghost Towning and wanted to know what some of the experienced member would suggest bringing along when going to a site. What are the essentials and such?

danbo
07-19-2007, 07:39 AM
Here’s my short list, think survival!

A plan and folks back home who know where you went.
Capable vehicle. I prefer a Rubicon. Any purpose built 4x4 will do well. Factory “Cute-Ute’s” are not capable, sorry L ( lockers = less winching )
Full tank of gas, GI cans are good insurance. Mount them high and outside the vehicle to guard against fumes and rear end collisions.
Larger caliber revolver with extra ammo. I prefer a 686.
Extra canned food and water. Tape a p-38 to the lid of your canned stew.
A good map and a good compass. An eTrex after you have a good map and compass.
Hat, blanket, dry socks, winter gear ( even in July )
Shovel, to dig yourself out when stuck.
Spare tire, Tire plug kit with small but effective 12v compressor.
Hi lift jack and chains to use as a manual winch, and a dirt anchor.
Many flashlights and many batteries.
100’ climbing ropes, the “real” kind.
A compact but capable tool kit.
Extra U-joints and a hand press.
Pipe strap, duct tape, butane lighters, dry matches, vice grips, nuts and bolts, zip ties, fluids, rags, hatchet/mallet, leatherman tool, binoculars.
Digital camera, so you can post cool pics on the forum.
Tarp with bungie cords.
Jumper cables and a fire extinguisher.
Bug spray
CB Radio. ( understand that a CB will only reach 5 miles line of sight )
Token first aid kit. Kids feel better when Band-Aids are put on their boo-boo’s.Extra credit items. Mucking boots, metal detector, gold pan, fishing pole,
electric winch, snatch blocks, D-rings, tent, folding chairs, Topo/Nav computer,
good friends and a cooler full of beer or soda.

If you don’t carry all of the above, tag along with someone who does.:D

Welcome to our family!!

bad bob
07-19-2007, 02:25 PM