PDA

View Full Version : Montana Advice?

Richard
12-10-2007, 05:17 AM
Hi, everyone

I'm an avid researcher/photographer of Montana ghost towns. Each June I spend a week in western Montana, seeking "new" sites and re-visiting old favorites.

You can see a few samples of my Montana photographs here:

http://www3.sympatico.ca/ramende/montana.htm

These are the places I've been to: Philipsburg, Bannack, Virginia City/Nevada City, Garnet, Elkhorn, Deer Lodge, Granita, Richmond Flats, Red Bluff, Sterling, Pony, Southern Cross, Cable, Marysville, Wickes, Corbin, Comet, Silver Star, Canyon Creek kilns, Neihart, Coolidge, Barker, Hughsville and Gould.

It's time to so some research for my 2008 trip. I'd love to hear from people who have travel suggestions for me. You'll find my email at the end of this posting.

I also love Montana and Montanans, so I'd love to hear from potential new friends. Music is another one of my primary interests. I always find magical new music in Montana.

Richard
ramende@sympatico.ca

Gravelrash
12-10-2007, 08:20 PM
Richard, those are very nice photos so thanks for sharing them.
I'm an awful long way from any of great ghost towns you've visited, but it was an interest in Montana that first led me to this great website so it's good to "meet" someone who shares my love of the place.
My original interest was not very informed - I just had a passion to drive Going to the Sun road, but the past few months has been a revelation, not just about Montana but most of the western half of the USA. I had no idea there were so many fabulous old towns and sites all over America. It is ghost towner heaven! I can't wait to see them myself....I'd also not say no to local knowledge!!
I hope you have a lot more photos to share.

Richard
12-11-2007, 05:47 AM
Hi