PDA

View Full Version : One of the most irritating banner ad I've run across.

dwinslow
10-15-2009, 08:19 PM
This evening a new banner add started appearing on the top right of the forum pages. This ridiculous ad keeps coming back with a voice saying "contragulations, you won". This thing repeats itself every few seconds. Is there any way the webmaster can $hitcan this thing. This is the most irritating ad I've run across. I know, I can always turn off the audio but that's a pain if you don't remember to turn it back on when exiting the page.

JoeZona
10-16-2009, 07:00 AM
You may want to try the Firefox browser with the Adblock Plus extension. I've been using it for a couple of years now, and I think it's the best thing since sliced bread. It removes *ALL* advertising banners from *ALL* web sites. Works perfectly and sets itself up automatically. It's very cool.

(You'll still need to keep IE around for Windows updates)

dwinslow
10-16-2009, 09:21 AM
You may want to try the Firefox browser with the Adblock Plus extension. I've been using it for a couple of years now, and I think it's the best thing since sliced bread. It removes *ALL* advertising banners from *ALL* web sites. Works perfectly and sets itself up automatically. It's very cool.

(You'll still need to keep IE around for Windows updates)

Thanks Joe. I use Firefox and I had the ad blocker in here but maybe it got turned off. I'll check it right now.

dwinslow
10-16-2009, 09:32 AM
Nope. It's still coming through and I can't turn it off.

JoeZona
10-16-2009, 10:06 AM
Hmmm. I don't know why that is...you have the Adblock Plus with the little ABP stop sign icon in the upper right of the browser? There are a couple others out there that have similar names.

dwinslow
10-16-2009, 10:36 AM
Hmmm. I don't know why that is...you have the Adblock Plus with the little ABP stop sign icon in the upper right of the browser? There are a couple others out there that have similar names.