PDA

View Full Version : "Newbie" here

myleswest
06-20-2010, 07:20 PM
Hello everyone,
I am new at this, so bare with me if I sound a bit ignorant on some of this.
I live in Tombstone, AZ. and I'm interested in doing some metal detecting in the area of Contention City. I did a little research and there seems to not be much left of the place but I thought I would make it my first search attempt.
First, what is the proper procedure to find out if it is lawful to even go there or any place like that?:confused:
How do I first find out if it is private property so I don't get my head shot off?:(
And finally, If there is anyone that would like to buddy up with me for some metal detecting in this area, I would appreciate the company.
I have been warned that its not good to be out there alone in the desert because of the hot sun, snakes, and "illegals".
Any advice or tips would be appreciated, Thanks.
Dennis

Darin
06-21-2010, 08:28 PM
Welcome to the forum Dennis.
I would actually say to try one of the metal detecting forums for those questions as metal detecting questions in a ghost town forum don't really mix well. We pretty much go by "take only pictures - leave only footprints" as to preserve what is left of our ever dieing ghost towns. Also, there is all the info on "if it's legal or not" on those forums.
Good luck though on finding the info you need.

Tsarevna
06-24-2010, 03:04 AM
Most ghost towns are going to be archeological sites in the future. Even if you didn't remove the objects you found, taking them out of the layer of soil they are found in ruins the way you date an object forever. Taking home a door knob means you have robbed archeologists of understanding history, and all it gets you is a junky old doorknob you'll put in your garage.

Top Reasons not to Metal Detect Ghost Towns:

-Removing artifacts on federal land is a federal crime
-Removing artifacts from private property is stealing