PDA

View Full Version : Laws prohibiting stealing of artifacts

Ghosttowns.com
10-14-2003, 12:34 PM
Originally posted by rob@2drx

: No worries, I'm not interested in stealing artifacts.

: However, I do occasionally mention to people that it is a federal crime to remove artifacts from a historic mining site. What law does this represent exactly? Is it only applicable on federal land?

: TIA

Ghosttowns.com
10-14-2003, 12:43 PM

: Sorry, I should have said that I'm a noob here, first time poster.

: rob

Ghosttowns.com
10-14-2003, 05:09 PM
Originally posted by Yet Another Bob

: It started with the American Antiquities Act of 1906, strenghted in 1975, The National Historic Preservation Act of 1966 and various amendments,
: The 1976 Federal Land Policy and Management Act (FLMA) established a national policy for protection and management of cultural resources, The American Indian Religious Freedom Act of 1978 (allows native American access and use while preventing distruction of sacred sites and objects on Federal lands), the 1979 Archaeological Resources Protection Act strengthened the Federal Government's legal commitment to protect these resources by establishing stiff penalties such as prison sentences and fines for those found guilty of excavating, removing, transporting, or selling these resources without a permit.