Thread: Ghost (?) Towns of Cimarron County, OK

Question Ghost (?) Towns of Cimarron County, OK

Hi all,

Glad to meet you.

Yes, I'm a newbie. And I'm French, which probably explains my poor English.

As strange as it seems, I have a real, old passion for the American West, its history, and its culture.

I come to the US every 3-4 years, just to visit those remote western states Europeans normally never visit: Kansas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, places like that.

In August 1988, as I was travelling through the Wild West, I discovered Cimarron County, in the extreme West of the Oklahoma Panhandle, and I felt like I had found my second 'homeland'. Yes. Cimarron County, Oklahoma. Can you believe it?...

I don't mean to bother you with a long, detailed story, so I'll simply say that people there turned out to be extremely friendly and hospitable, and also that I simply fell in love with the local landscapes, especially the wild, peaceful, gorgeous Kenton / Black Mesa area, in the northwestern corner of the county. I spent two unforgettable weeks there, before returning to France.

I explored the area again in the early and mid-90s, then I decided the time had come to visit other places in the US... But I never forgot Cimarron County - and I'm firmly determined to explore it again, hopefully in 1 or 2 years.

Many years ago I started a research on the history of the Oklahoma Panhandle. Now I intend to concentrate my research on the ghost towns of Cimarron County: Bakke (aka Esbon), Benola (aka Keota), Bertrand, Bruyere, Burton (aka Burton Jct.), Castaneda, Conrad Jct., Dee, Delfin, Delya, Doby, Felt, Gallienas, Garlington (aka Jurgensen), Garrett, Golf, Gresham, Griggs, Harmer Jct., Hidalgo, Hopkins, Hurley, Kimball, Ludlam, Marella, McCullough Jct., Metcalf, Mexhoma, Midwell, Mineral (aka Mineral City), Minnetonka, Myrna, Nieto Jct., Okshuskey, Pulis, Railey, Ramsey, Regnier, Sampsel, Sturgis, Tepee, Usna, Varney (Verne?), Wheeless, Wilkins, Willowbar.