Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Western Frontier architecture

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Western Frontier architecture

Hi folks, great site, Im a new member. Say, If I were to ask you what is the nicest building built in the mid to late 1800'ds for each state (west of the mississippi) in any historically significant town, what would they be? For example,Idaho-Cataldo mission near coure de laine. California-Deschambeau hotel/IOOF bldgs. in Bodie. The building has to show the effects of time,but still be in fairly good shape. The building should also be unique and have that certain air of western frontier.

Default more clarification needed,I soppose

OK let me explain what I am after. I am a part time artist and ghost town fan, who creates half scale(1":24"or one inch =2 feet) replicas of historic western fronteir building facades.I use ceramics,wood, metal, and glass to create these pieces, and research as best I can to find whatever info(plans, old photos, etc.) i need. I have invested 3 -400 hours of work into some pieces . In keeping this theme, I am trying to create one building from each state that hopefully is the iconic "ghostown" building for that state.I have completed the Cataldo mission in Idaho, the Deschambeau hotel/IOOF bldg. combo in Bodie Ca., and am currently working on the three building combination of Knights of the Pithias/E clampus vitus/miners union hall in Virginia city Nevada.I have also done some small churches such as saint Rose catholic in French Gulch Ca.(unfortunately burned down by arsonists in 1999). So what I am looking for from you folks are suggestions of your favorite buildings as far as architecture that may someday hang in a museum as representative of The old Fronteir days. Thanks