Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moose City Idaho???

Default Moose City Idaho???

I'm a little new at this. Has anyone ever been to Moose City in Clearwater County Idaho? I have researched it, I know it started in 1869 and is shown on Idaho maps from then but vanishes between 1895 and 1905. It is a "city of importance" (according to the Idaho Historical Society) but is "unsurvayed" (what ever that means).I have a 4X4 map (2002) showing it to be on trail #255. It looks like it's not easy to get there. I live in Wallace ID and it does not seem far, just rough trails. Just wondering if there is anything left and if it's worth the trip? Any info is appriciated.

Johnnie is offline Rawk Crawlin GPS Totin Ghost Towning Expert

Default "Moose City"

Quote Originally Posted by Teddy
    I'm a little new at this. Has anyone ever been to Moose City in Clearwater County Idaho? I have researched it, I know it started in 1869 and is shown on Idaho maps from then but vanishes between 1895 and 1905. It is a "city of importance" (according to the Idaho Historical Society) but is "unsurvayed" (what ever that means).I have a 4X4 map (2002) showing it to be on trail #255. It looks like it's not easy to get there. I live in Wallace ID and it does not seem far, just rough trails. Just wondering if there is anything left and if it's worth the trip? Any info is appriciated.
    Teddy, John Amerson @ the Wallace Mining Museum, might be of some help or guide you in right direction, lots of luck.

Your Fellow Ghosttowners
    Johnnie & Sheila
    Last edited by Johnnie; 09-24-2005 at 08:17 AM.

Default No One Knows the Moose!