Thread: Need lots of advice about ghost towns. Please help!

Question Need lots of advice about ghost towns. Please help!

Hi;

I'm new to ghost towning. I live in Georgia and plan on taking a month long trip with my family out west this summer. I am an amateur photographer who loves to photograph old buildings and such. I am also a history buff who loves the old west. I want to visit some of these places before they completely vanish or people haul off everything. I think we should leave everything as is in these places for others to enjoy!!!!!! I would like to visit some ghost towns while out west. I plan on visiting Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, and Montana.

I don't know about out west but here in the south, you just don't go poking around in abandond buildings or you may end up being run off. Therefore, I'm a little leary of going to these ghost towns. I would like to know of ghost towns that are truely deserted. I also would like to visit ghost towns that aren't tourist attractions. I would like to see the real thing.

So, as you can see, I need lots of advice. I have read several books on this subject but I think personal experience would be much more valuable. So please advise me on where to go to see some great ghost towns. I would appreciate it greatly!
    Last edited by ghostphoto; 01-19-2006 at 09:39 AM.

Default Wish I Could Help

I know little about Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, and Montana but I could point you toward all sorts of ghost towns you could poke around here in Nevada. Private property in these here parts is most likely posted as such and a good map showing what is public land (Poking about allowed) or private is essential. Active mining operations may occur on public land so a healthy respect for posted no trespassing signs is sage advice. Many of those sites can still be photographed from the road or the street. Hopefully someone with a good knowledge of the states you plan to visit will respond.