Thread: Thanx for your forum

Default Thanx for your forum

I “discovered” this forum while researching data on the internet for a novel I’m writing that’s set in Gleeson, AZ. I didn’t realize any one was out there is still exploring those old towns and sites. I thought that most of ‘em have been stripped, paved over and/or converted to housing tracts by now.

I was an Archeology student at the Univ of AZ in 1962/3 & 4 and spent lots of time in the Dragoon Mts/Cochise’s Stronghold area doing archeological surveying and indexing sites for future excavation. We also explored the town of Gleeson and many of the surrounding mines. (We found the Tiffany turquoise mine.)

We spent Xmas break and most holidays/long weekends throughout the year camped out in the area. Our favorite winter camp was the Gleeson jail and we camped down in some of the mine tunnels sometimes during the hot summer months (Hey – we were 19 – 20 year olds. We didn’t know any better.)

I found a picture of a little abandoned wood house on a Gleeson web site. I wonder if the photographer knows that was Yee Wee’s house. I met him there in ’64 (he passed away in early ’68). He told me that he was born in Canton during the 1880’s and brought to this country to work on the RR. He was a sprightly little 80+ year old when I met him and told marvelous tales of life in Gleeson during the Depression and his early life working on the RR. I introduced him to one of my friends in the Anthropology Department and she spent several weekends interviewing him and making audio tape recordings of his stories. He used to say “I see you tomorrow”. He was right too; I’m including him in my novel.

There was a retired old “desert rat” by the name of Mayfair (I think) that lived in Gleeson with his wife in a trailer house when we were exploring in the ‘60’s. I wonder what ever became of him. (He was trying to build the Gleeson museum – a bunch of old wood shelves covered with chicken wire.)