Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Washington state ghost towns

Smile Washington state ghost towns

Hello!
    My husband and I recently visited the old mining town of Liberty, in Kittitas co. Washington and loved it. There are still 16 people and at least 2 dogs living there. Next we plan on visiting two ghost towns near our home in Pierce co.

Would love to share info and history on Washington's ghost towns, although there are not too many.

Cheers to all
    Sandy and Chuck VanOrman

Hello Sandy,

I am an avid photographer of ghost towns and will be in Washington state soon. Are there good sites within driving distance of Seattle? Any reply would be much appreciated.

Many thanks!

CJ

Default Washington state ghost towns

Hi!
    Here is a link to a web site that shows the ghost towns of Washington and their distances from the nearest towns.
    www.freepages.history.rootsweb.com/~usa/wa.htm

Let me know if you are unable to access it, and I will send you the info.
    The old mining/ghost town of Liberty is about 130 miles from Seattle, a 2-1/2 hr drive.
    When we were there we talked to one of the residents. I think you will like the town. Some of the orginal buildings still exist.
    I had never used an out-house before! They have them for the passing visitors.

I suggest getting a good map of Washington- there are about 21 ghost towns here, and it will show you the distances from Seattle.
    If you don't mind sending your email, I can send a couple photos of Liberty that I took.
    Next on our list is to visit Burnett, which is here in Pierce co. about 35 miles from where we live.

Good luck!
    Sandy

Anyway, hope the link helps!
    Sandy

Also, check out this site:
    http://www.ghosttownsusa.com/
    Eastern Washington but good info. They also have a book out - very helpful when traveling.
    Don't forget Monte Cristo. Also, Roslyn is interesting in a non-ghost kind of way - inhabited.
    Check out the thread on Weston and Lester, too.