Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for Ghost Towns in Washington State

Smile Looking for Ghost Towns in Washington State

Hello. I am new to the world of Ghost-Towns, but I am very intrested and want to learn more. I live in Washington State and have had very limited success trying to find information about ghost towns here. I have found a couple old books but the info seems very out of date. Some of the towns listed are still active or the ghost towns have been swallowed up by urban expansion.

Does anyone know of any good ghost towns in Washington? Also, what are soem good sources for finding Ghost towns? What are the best types of maps? All i have are road atlases, so I need to get better maps. Would USGS survey maps be the best for showing logging roads etc...?

Thanks for helping out a newbie!

bad bob is offline Rock Crawlin GPS Moving Map Totin Trailblazing Expert Ghost Towner

Howdy Reed.
    In the 2nd category, "Directions and Locations..." I posted a few surrounding the Seattle area, for JuneNY. They're all easily found on Rand McNally road atlas.

THANKS! I will check it out now.

LauraA is offline Rock Crawlin GPS Moving Map Totin Trailblazing Expert Ghost Towner

Reed, Welcome to the forum! You might have already seen it, but just in case you haven't, the Ghost Town web site associated with this forum lists Washington State GTs, it's got a good map with clickable locations. Ghost Towns and History of the American West Turn up your volume and enjoy the banjo music

Ghostdancer is offline Rawk Crawlin GPS Totin Ghost Towning Expert

May I suggest Lester.

Located in the Stampede Pass area east of Seattle. I was there last August and it's a worthwhile visit.

Tom
    "Here lies Lester Moore; four slugs from A-44. No Les no more." - Grave marker at Tombstone's Boothill Cemetary

Thanks for the heads up on Lester! I will definitely move that to the top of my list. How difficult was it to get there?