Thread: Documentary Filmmaker Looking for Ghost Towns

Default Documentary Filmmaker Looking for Ghost Towns

Hello,

I am new to this site and would like to learn more about ghost towns. I am an independent filmmaker and would like to ultimately make a documentary about one. I am particularly interested in following someone who is purchasing a ghost town and seeing what their plans are for the land once they have bought it. I'm fascinated with ghost towns but still figuring out where to start in order to learn more. Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank You!

-Jen

Tsarevna is offline Rawk Crawlin GPS Totin Ghost Towning Expert

Welcome to the forum Jen.

I do have an idea for you. I don't think anybody has ever really gone out and made a Vanport documentary before. You could do a series based on WWII era ghost towns, with Hanford taking a special episode. Hanford is in the process of being torn down, so its a sort of now-or-never thing. It is so polluted with radiation in places that people are hired to hunt down any rats or rabbits that may have accidentally drunk water at the site. If the rabbits get away from the grounds and defecate, they are spreading deadly radiation in their waste!
    This all makes for some very spooky film-making, featuring Chernoble-style tension and scenes of abandonment.

There are a few WWII ghost towns in America that people are only vaguely aware of. Hanford nuclear reservation has it's own ghost town that housed the workers, but for the moment the name of it escapes me. There are still people out there living today to interview who lived and worked at these now-abandoned war-era towns and bases. Like I said, it's now or never.

edit: I found a nice snippet of Vanport Flood footage here. Start watching at 15:27.