Originally posted by Steve Bruce

: Here is the letter to the smithsonian on the hotel. Similar stuff has gone to the DOI as well. Pls contact me if you want to help save the hotel. Likewise if you are part of a historical preservation group then please contact me: sbruce@mailcity.com

:

: "I am a writer and Americana expert on Goldfield, Nevada, with a considerable CV concerning the history of the town. In addition I am in contact with the Esmeralda County Supervisors concerning the historic Goldfield Hotel to assist in obtaining some disposition with respect to the future of this historic structure. The Hotel dates from 1908 and it has many historic associations - however a discussion of these associations is beyond the scope of this letter.

: The purpose of this correspondence is to establish contact with the Smithsonian Institution in an attempt to determine what interest there might be and to inform the Smithsonian with respect to certain material facts concerning the Hotel.

: The Hotel is a very large structure consisting of 154 rooms and it is situated in the heart of the Goldfield business district on the main Route 95 highway connecting the major urban areas of Las Vegas to the South and Reno to the North. This route is heavily traveled with increasing traffic as Nevadaís population increases.

: Several earlier renovation projects have left the Hotel in the following state:

: 1. Two million dollars has been spent to date totally rebuilding the foundation of the Hotel with substantial concrete pillars that unobtrusively stabilize the building.

: 2. Approximately one and one-half million dollars already spent to date renovating the entire roof area of the Hotel.

: 3. Numerous comprehensive repairs have been already undertaken to masonry, brick pointing, painting of window sashes and structures. I estimate these repairs to the exterior of the building to be ninety percent complete.

: 4. Electrical re-wiring is about fifty percent completed.